Opening Hours

Mon–Fri: 8am–6pm

Who we are

The Nairobi Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (NaMATA) was established by an Executive Order through Legal Notice No.18 of 17TH February 2017 with the main mandate of overseeing the establishment of an integrated, efficient, effective and sustainable public transport system within the Nairobi Metropolitan Area (NMA). The NMA is made up of Kajiado, Kiambu, Machakos, Murang’a and Nairobi City counties. NaMATA's principal objective is to oversee the establishment of a safe, integrated, efficient, effective, and sustainable public transport system within the Nairobi Metropolitan Area.

Governance Structure

At the apex of the governance structure is the Nairobi Metropolitan Area (NMA) Council.

NaMATA Council Members Current Holder
The Cabinet Secretary responsible for Transport Chairperson CS Hon. Onesimus Kipchumba Murkomen, EGH. Image
The Governor Nairobi County Vice Chairperson H.E Johnson Sakaja Image
The Cabinet Secretary Treasury Member Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u, CBS Image
The Governor Machakos County Member H.E Wavinya Ndeti Image
The Governor Kajiado County Member H.E Joseph Ole Lenku Image
The Governor Kiambu County Member H.E Dr. Kimani Wamatangi Image
The Governor Murang’a County Member H.E Dr. Irungu Kang'ata Image

Functions of the NMA Council

  • Develop Policy and direction
  • Set goals ,objectives and priorities for NMA
  • Determine financial contribution of each county
  • Approve master plan and strategic plan
  • Declare by Notice in the Gazette transport corridors
  • Approve external funding and bilateral agreements